University Of Pretoria

By |

University Of Pretoria

University Of Pretoria

The University of Pretoria (UP) was established in 1908 with just four professors and 32 students, in a little house called Kya Rosa. Today, it is one of the largest research universities in South Africa. UP is now ranked second in SA and 190th in the world (250 in 2022), according to the Employer Reputation indicator. UP has transformed into a dynamic university community of staff and students who come from a range of diverse backgrounds and cultures showcasing South African and global societies. The University was born from a vision to create a space for quality education and for new ideas to flourish. Throughout its existence, and through different phases of political power and social change, UP has been resilient in its commitment to academic quality.

This has allowed the University Of Pretoria to establish a presence among the top 1,9% of universities worldwide. University Of Pretoria’s vision has always been to look forward, provide the best possible education for our students, and encourage them to go on to do great things. We are continuously transforming the corporate and research landscape through innovative thinking and the high calibre of our graduates. More than a quarter of a million alumni have passed through our doors. Many are on the path to success, while others have already become leaders in their fields both locally and internationally.

UP has grown to become one of the top universities on the continent, and proud that UP’s reputation precedes our graduates around the world. Our story at UP is as much about where we have come from as where we are heading. It is a story of ongoing positive development, dedication to excellence, and striving to reach our goals with zeal, passion and perseverance.

Before deciding on which college or school to join or which school/college should I enrol my child, you might have come across several prospectuses. Download the University of Pretoria prospectus in pdf format.

READ: Prospectus For University Of Pretoria

University of Pretoria Campuses

The University of Pretoria has seven campuses.

  • Main (Hatfield) campus
  • Hillcrest Campus/High-Performance Centre
  • Groenkloof Campus
  • Prinshof Campus (Health Sciences Faculty)
  • Onderstepoort Campus (Veterinary Sciences Campus)
  • Mamelodi Campus
  • Gordon Institute of Business Science

Application Fee For University Of Pretoria 2025-2026

When you submit your study application, you will need to pay an application fee of R300 (30 US Dollars) for 2025. Please note that the application fee is non-refundable

READ: University Of Pretoria Online Application

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *