Sefako Makgatho Health University

By |

Sefako Makgatho Health University

Sefako Makgatho Health Sciences University (SMU) is a university in Pretoria North, Gauteng Province, South Africa. It was formed on 1 January 2015. Previously it was known as Medical University of South Africa (MEDUNSA) and later as a campus of the University of Limpopo. It is named after South African ANC leader Sefako Makgatho. Since its name-change, students have colloquially referred to the institution using the acronym of its current name (“SMU”) in a similar fashion to manner in which they used the acronym “MEDUNSA” to refer to the institution prior to the change of name.
The seat of the University is located at Ga-Rankuwa. The name change from MEDUNSA to Sefako Makgatho Health Sciences University (SMU) was one of the causes of the riots in August 2014. From 2005 to 2015, the University was a campus of the University of Limpopo, but it was separated following a review of the merger. The launch on 14 April 2015 was attended by President Jacob Zuma and Minister of Higher Education Blade Nzimande, with the President delivering the keynote address.
The following degree programmes are offered:

School of Medicine

Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery (MBChB) (incl. ECP)
Master of Medicine – MMed (in various specialisations)
Master of Science in Clinical Psychology (MSc Clinical Psychology)
Doctor of Medicine (MD in General Surgery)
Phd (in various specialisations)
Bachelor of Diagnostic Radiography (BRad Diag)

School of Oral Health

Bachelor of Dental Sciences (BDS)
Master of Dentistry (MDent) (various specialisations)
PhD in Dentistry
Bachelor of Dental Therapy (BDT)
Bachelor of Oral Hygiene (BOH)

School of Pharmacy

Bachelor of Pharmacy
Master of Pharmacy
PhD in Pharmacy
Postgraduate Diploma (Hospital Pharmacy Management)

School of Health Care Sciences

Department of Nursing Sciences

Baccalaureus Curationis (BCur) (I et A)
Bachelor of Nursing Science Honours (in various specialisations)
Master of Nursing Science (in various specialisations)
PhD in Nursing Sciences
Diploma in Occupational Health Nursing
Advanced Diploma in Occupational Health Nursing

Department of Human Nutrition and Dietetics

Bachelor of Science in Dietetics
Masters of Science in Dietetics
PhD in Diet

Department of Occupational Therapy

Bachelor of Occupational Therapy
Masters of Occupational Therapy

Department of Physiotherapy

Bachelor of Science in Physiotherapy
Master in Physiotherapy(in various specialisation)

School of Science and Technology

Bachelor of Science:
Majoring in:
Chemistry | Computer Science | Physiology | Psychology | Biology | Biochemistry | Physics | Mathematics and Applied Mathematics | Statistics
Extended Curriculum Programme (ECP) 4 years
Bachelor of Science Honours
Masters of Science

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *