Stellenbosch University Courses

By |

Stellenbosch University Courses

Stellenbosch University Courses

Stellenbosch University is a public research university situated in Stellenbosch, a town in the Western Cape province of South Africa. Stellenbosch is the oldest university in South Africa and the oldest extant university in Sub-Saharan Africa, together with the University of Cape Town

According to the Times Higher World University Ranking, Stellenbosch University is maintaining its reputation as a world-class institution. The University is amongst South Africa’s leading tertiary institutions based on research output, student pass rates and rated scientists, and is recognized internationally as an academic institution of excellence.

Below are the courses and their variousb faculties offered at Stellenbosch University;

READ: UP Registration Dates

Here are the 10 Faculties offered by Stellenbosch University:

  • AgriSciences
  • Economic and Management Sciences
  • Medicine and Health Sciences
  • Engineering
  • Military Sciences
  • Arts and Social Sciences
  • Science
  • Education
  • Law
  • Theology

Here Are The Undergraduate Courses Offered by Stellenbosch University


  • Agricultural Economics and Management
  • BAgric in Agricultural Production and Management: Elsenburg
  • BScAgric in Animal Science
  • BSc in Conservation Ecology
  • BSc in Food Science
  • BSc in Forestry (Forestry and Wood Science)
  • BSc in Viticulture and Oenology
  • BScAgric in Plant and Soil Science
  • Extended Degree Programmes
  • Bachelor of Data Science

Arts and Social Sciences:

  • BA in Humanities
  • BA in Language and Culture
  • BA in Development and Environment
  • BA in Drama and Theatre Studies
  • BA in Human Resource Management
  • BA in International Studies
  • BA in Law
  • Bachelor of Music (BMus)
  • BA in Music
  • Diploma in Practical Music
  • Advanced Diploma in Practical Music
  • Higher Certificate in Music
  • BA in Political, Philosophical and Economic Studies (PPE)
  • Programmes with Psychology
  • Bachelor of Social Work
  • BA in Sports Science
  • BA in Visual Arts

Economic and Management Science:

  • Bachelor of Data Science
  • BCom (Management Sciences)
  • BCom (Economic Sciences)
  • BCom (Mathematical Sciences)
  • BCom (International Business)
  • BCom (Management Sciences) (Extended Degree Programme)
  • Diploma in Sustainable Development
  • Bachelor of Data Science
  • BAcc
  • BCom (Actuarial Sciences)
  • BCom (Financial Accounting)
  • BCom (Management Accounting)
  • BCom (Industrial Psychology)
  • BAccLLB
  • BCom (Law)

READ: Stellenbosch University Engineering


  • BEd (Foundation Phase Education)
  • BEd (Intermediate Phase Education)
  • Postgraduate Certificate in Education


  • BEng (Civil)
  • BEng (Chemical)
  • BEng (Electrical and Electronic)
  • BEng (Electrical and Electronic) with a focus on Data Engineering
  • BEng (Industrial)
  • BEng (Mechanical)
  • BEng (Mechatronic)


  • BA (Law)
  • BCom (Law)
  • LLB (four-year)
  • BAccLLB
  • LLB (three-year)

Medicine and Health Sciences:

  • BSc in Dietetics
  • BSc in Physiotherapy
  • Bachelor of Speech-Language and Hearing Therapy
  • Bachelor of Occupational Therapy
  • MBChB
  • Bachelor of Nursing and Midwifery

Military Science:

  • BMil in Human and Organisation Development
  • BMil in Organisation and Resource Management
  • BMil in Technology
  • BMil in Technology and Defence Management
  • BMil in Security and Africa Studies


  • BSc in Biodiversity and Ecology
  • BSc in Human Life Sciences
  • BSc in Molecular Biology and Biotechnology
  • BSc in Sport Science
  • BSc in GeoInformatics
  • BSc in Chemistry
  • BSc in Earth Sciences
  • BSc in Physics
  • BSc in Mathematical Sciences
  • BSc in Computer Science


  • BTh (Bachelor of Theology)
  • BDiv (Bachelor of Divinity)

Eight faculties can be done at the main campus, with the Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences situated on the Tygerberg campus and the Faculty of Military Sciences based at the South African Defence Force Military Academy in Saldanha. The Faculty of Economic and Management Sciences is located on the Bellville Park campus.

READ: Stellenbosch University Faculties

Stellenbosch University Campuses

The University of Stellenbosch has 5 main campuses:

  • Main Campus found in Stellenbosch
  • Medicine and Health Sciences Campus found in Tygerberg
  • Military Sciences Campus based in Saldanha
  • Economic and Management Sciences Campus  located in Bellville Park
  • Ukwanda Rural Clinic School found in Worcester


Stellenbosch University Admission Requirements

Basic admission requirements for university study:

  • A National Senior Certificate (NSC) or Independent Examinations Board (IEB) school-leaving certificate as certified by Umalusi with admission to bachelor’s degree studies.
  • A university exemption certificate issued by the South African Matriculation Board to students with other school qualifications.
  • The minimum academic requirement for a bachelor’s degree is:
  • 30% for a South African Language of Learning and Teaching (English or Afrikaans) and
  • An achievement rating of 4 (50% – 59%) in four 20-credit subjects
  • Only School of Tomorrow applicants has to write the National Benchmark Tests (NBTs) if applying for a programme in AgriSciences.

Faculty requirements for programmes leading to a qualification in Viticulture and/or Oenology:

  • An average of at least 60% in the NSC, IEB or relevant final school examination.

The average is calculated by taking your highest score in the Language of Learning and Teaching subject (English or Afrikaans) + (5 x best results in 20-credit subjects excluding Life orientation and Mathematics 3). The total divided by 6 equals your NSC average.

  • Afrikaans or English (Home Language or First Additional Language) 4 (50%)
  • Mathematics 5 (60%)
  • Physical Sciences (Physics and Chemistry) 4 (50%) 

READ: Stellenbosch University Medicine

How to Apply to Stellenbosch University

  1. Explore your options. For more information on the courses SU offers, click here.

Monitor your application status here

  1. Apply for financial support

Stellenbosch University Location And Contact Details

Telephone: +27 21 808 9111
Fax: +27 21 808 3822

​Private Bag X1
Matieland, 7602
South Africa​

GPS coordinates:
Administration B Building, Victoria Street, Stellenbosch ​​

18° 51′ 47.536″ East
33° 56′ 1.327″ South​​


For more information on Stellenbosch University click here. We do hope this article was helpful. You can ask your question in the comment section.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *