Stellenbosch University Law Faculty

By |

Stellenbosch University Law Faculty

Stellenbosch University Law Faculty

The law school at Stellenbosch University (SU) was founded in 1921 and is housed in the iconic “Ou Hoofgebou” (Old Main Building), which is located at the intersection of Ryneveld and Victoria Streets. The Department of Mercantile Law, the Department of Private Law, the Department of Public Law, and the Law Clinic are the three departments that make up the Faculty.

A sizable portion of the upper floor of the Stellenbosch University Library is taken up by the expanded law library. SU Faculty of Law offers Law programs for both South African Students and International Students. Since 1921 the faculty have been producing legal professionals, judges, attorneys, and advocates. The Faculty has Undergraduate and Postgraduate programs for interested applicants. Baccllb stellenbosch university

READ: Stellenbosch University Online Application SU

Degrees and diplomas awarded by the Faculty

  • Legum Baccalaureus (LLB)
  • Legum Magister (LLM)
  • Legum Doctor (LLD)
  • Postgraduate Diploma in Tax Law (PDTL)
  • Postgraduate Diploma in Intellectual Property Law (PDIPL)
  • Postgraduate Diploma in Public Procurement Policy and Regulation (PDPPPR)

Bachelor’s programs

An LLB degree is required to practice law, but it also opens up a wide range of additional professional opportunities.
There are several ways to become qualified as an LLB.
Below are SU Law Faculty Undergraduate Programs;

  • LLB (4-year undergraduate degree); this program is to provide learners with a sound grasp of all branches of law essential for a career as a legal practitioner.
  • BAccLLB (BAcc and LLB degrees over a 5-year period); this program enlightens students understanding concerning Financial Accounting, Management Accounting, Tax, and Auditing. After completing this program students are equipped to commence with professional training to become an attorney, advocate, or chartered accountant.
  • BA (Law) (3-year undergraduate degree) this program enriches learners’ understanding of languages, human behavior, and social issues while providing a basis for further legal study by providing entry to the 2-year postgraduate LLB.

READ: UP Registration Dates

SU Law Faculty Postgraduate Programs are as follows;

  • LLD
  • LLM (by research)
  • LLM (Public Procurement Regulation)
  • LLM (Labour Law)
  • LLM (Intellectual Property Law)
  • LLM (International Trade Law)
  • LLM (Alternative Dispute Resolution)
  • LLM (General)
  • LLM (by coursework)
  • Postgraduate Diploma in Public Procurement Policy and Regulation
  • Postgraduate Diploma in Intellectual Property Law
  • Postgraduate Diploma in Tax Law
  • LLB (3 years)

READ: MUT Online Application

Kindly note that LLM (by research) and LLD applications are to be accompanied by a suitable research proposal and prospective applicants are advised to meet with a suitable promoter at the Faculty to discuss their proposed research before submission.
SU Faculty of Law General Requirements

  • Non-South African applicants are to provide proof of permanent residence or refugee status
  • Student support form for applicants with disabilities
    Certified copies of your qualifications
  • Applicants are to write the National Benchmark Test AQL before the end of June
  • Applicant must obtain at least 60% in six subjects of National Senior Certificate(excluding Life Orientation)
  • English or Afrikaans Home Language 60% English or Afrikaans First Additional Language 70%
    If Economics is taken as a university subject, then also Mathematics 60%

For application please click here
Postgraduate Programs applications are submitted via
Faculty Administrator: Mr. Shirle Cornelissen
Tel: +27 (0)21 808 9312


Stellenbosch University Website

University Of Pretoria Courses And Requirement

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *