UCT Medical School

By |

UCT Medical School

UCT Medical School

The Department of Medicine is a large clinical department which plays a leading role in medical education and research, and provides clinical services to the communities of the Western Cape and, in the case of our highly specialised services, to patients throughout southern Africa. The Department consists of 21 clinical and service divisions, 11 major research units, and four affiliated departments of medicine at Mitchell’s Plain, New Somerset, II Military, and Victoria hospitals. Each day, members of the department treat an average of 2,000 patients in our clinics, admit about 100 patients to our hospital services and perform over 210 medical procedures.

The department offers several highly specialised services that are unique nationally such as allergology, bone marrow, heart, kidney, and liver transplantation, cardiac electrophysiology, endobronchial ultrasound-guided bronchoscopy, and double balloon enteroscopy for visualisation of the small bowel. Uct health science courses

READ: Stellenbosch University Registration


The Department consists of 19 clinical divisions and 11 major research units. The clinical divisions are Acute General Medicine, Cardiology, Clinical Haematology, Clinical Immunology, Clinical Pharmacology, Clinical Skills Centre, Dermatology, Emergency Unit, Endocrinology & Diabetology, Geriatric Medicine, Hepatology, Infectious Diseases and HIV Medicine, Lipidology, Medical Gastroenterology, Nephrology & Hypertension, Neurology, Pulmonology and Rheumatology.

The Department has 11 major Research Units: The Allergy Diagnostic & Clinical Research Unit, Albertina & Walter Sisulu Institute for Aging in Africa, Centre of Excellence for Chronic Diseases in Sub-Saharan Africa, Desmond Tutu HIV Research Centre, UCT/UCL Hatter Institute for Cardiology Research, UCT Leukaemia Unit, Lung Infection and Immunity Unit, UCT Lung Institute, MRC/UCT Liver Research Centre, MRC/UCT/UWC Research Unit for Traditional Medicines and the World Health Organisation Collaborating Centre for Drug Policy.

READ: Cape Peninsula University of Technology Cape Town

UCT Medical School Clinical Service

The staff provide clinical care to patients in our principal teaching hospital, Groote Schuur Hospital, and in its associated regional hospitals: New Somerset Hospital and Victoria Hospital, Mitchell’s Plain Hospital, Brooklyn Crest Hospital, II Military Hospital as well as in the UCT Private Academic Hospital. The Department of Medicine at George Hospital is a satellite training unit of the department. Our expertise spans the full spectrum of internal medicine, including highly specialised areas such as renal, cardiac and liver transplantation.

READ:Online Courses At UCT

Health Sciences: Undergraduate

The Health Sciences Faculty offers the following undergraduate degrees and diplomas: Bachelor of Health Science requirements

Bachelor of Medicine & Bachelor of Surgery

  • Medicine and Surgery

*Bachelor of Science in Audiology: Bachelor of health science requirements

  • Audiology

Bachelor of Science in Occupational Therapy: Bachelor of health science requirements

  • Occupational Therapy

*Bachelor of Science in Physiotherapy

  • Physiotherapy

Bachelor of Science in Speech-Language Pathology: Bachelor of health science requirements

  • Speech-Language Pathology
  • Higher Certificate in Disability Practice
  • Advanced Diploma in Cosmetic Formulation Science

Please note: for detailed information on these degrees and diplomas please consult the Health Sciences Faculty handbook.

READ; Stellenbosch University Tygerberg Campus

CONTACT/ Bachelor of health science requirements

The University of Cape Town,
Private Bag X3,
Rondebosch 7701,
South Africa

+27 (0)21 650 9111

For more information on Rhodes University click here. We do hope this article was helpful. You can ask your question in the comment section.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *