University Of Pretoria Veterinary

By |

University Of Pretoria Veterinary

University Of Pretoria Veterinary

The Faculty of Veterinary Science is indispensable to the economy of the country and serves the interests of all the people of South Africa. Well known for its quality of training, research, services and community engagement, the Faculty aims to be an internationally accredited seat of veterinary excellence. It aims to better the lives of the average South African by benefitting from better nutrition and the growth of the South African agro-economy.
Being the only one of its kind in South Africa, the Faculty is solely responsible for the training of veterinarians and veterinary nurses. In 2017 and 2018 it was placed 30th and 37th among all veterinary schools in the world on the international Shanghai rankings for the respective years. The Veterinary Science course has also been ranked 43rd globally in the QS World University Rankings for 2019, the first time its course offering has been ranked by QS.
In the same category, the Faculty is ranked 5th overall in the Southern Hemisphere. Our faculty is self-contained on the Onderstepoort Campus, which has access to state-of-the-art facilities to ensure that you are gaining experience in working with a variety of different animals.

Up Undergraduate Undergraduate Programmes

The Faculty offers the following undergraduate programmes: Veterinary schools in Africa

  • Bachelor of Veterinary Science (BVSc)
  • Bachelor of Veterinary Nursing (BVetNurs)

The following persons may be considered for admission:

  •  applicants who are currently in their final school year and have applied with their final results of the preceding year of schooling (Grade 11 or equivalent);
  • applicants who have completed their final school year, but have not yet commenced further studies;
  •  applicants who have a certificate that is deemed by the University to be equivalent to the required National Senior Certificate (NSC) with university endorsement. This certificate must be certified by Universities South Africa (USAf);
  • applicants who are currently enrolled on tertiary education;
  •  applicants who are graduates from another tertiary institution, or have been granted the status of a graduate of such an institution; and
  • applicants who are graduates of another faculty at the University of Pretoria.


University of Pretoria Veterinary Application General Information

To apply at UP for Veterinary, the following must be considered;

  • ​BVSc applicants, please refer to Annexure C in the Undergraduate Faculty Brochure, for the categories of students we admit based on the Merit Point Score.
  • BVetNurs applicants, please refer to Annexure D in the Undergraduate Faculty Brochure, for the categories of students we admit based on the Merit Point Score.
  • The Faculty, being the only one of its kind in South Africa, strives to select students from diverse backgrounds and ethnic representation.
  • Designated ethnic groups (see Annexure C and Annexure D) are interpreted in terms of the Employment Equity Act 55 of 1998 and include black Africans, Coloureds and Indians.
  • The highest-ranking applicants are selected until the capacity is reached within each category.
  • The Admissions Committee of the Faculty of Veterinary Science may assign spaces to another category when there are insufficient applicants who meet the minimum criteria in a particular category.
  • The final number of places offered to applicants is determined by the Admissions Committee, taking into account the teaching facilities and available resources.
  • School-leaving and university applicants who are conditionally admitted will forfeit their placement if they fail to meet the conditions as set in Annexure G.
  • To retain conditional admission, applicants, need to comply with the minimum subject requirements based on their final school year examination results.
  • South African school-leaving applicants enrolled for the NSC or IEB who have forfeited their placement and who still comply with the minimum requirements will automatically be considered in the second round of selection in January

READ: Stellenbosch University Bursaries

Contact UP

Postal Address:

  • University of Pretoria
  • Private Bag x 20
  • Hatfield


GIBS | Groenkloof | Hatfield
Hillcrest | Mamelodi | Onderstepoort | Prinshof.

For more information visit the official website of the University of Pretoria. I hope the provided information is helpful, share your thoughts below in the comment section.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *